By Danielle Wall
So, you want to give your child, niece, nephew, grandchild, cousin a firearm as a gift. This can be done relatively simply, but when the person you are wanting to gift a firearm to is a minor, there are some very important laws in Florida that you need to be aware of.
The legal age in Florida to purchase any firearm is now 21. A firearm can be gifted, however, to someone under the age of 21, but the regulations become stricter the younger the person receiving the gift is. When dealing with a minor, someone under the age of 18, it is unlawful for any one to gift any weapon whatsoever unless a parent or guardian gives permission (this does not include a common pocket knife). Any one who does this would be committing a third-degree felony which is punishable by up to 5 years in prison, 5 years of probation and a $5,000 fine.
As previously stated, you can gift a firearm to someone under 21, but until the time he/she is 21, the firearm cannot be carried on his/her person. The firearm can be loaded and transported in a vehicle if the gift receiver is at least 18 years old. If the gift receiver is a child, 16 or 17 years of age, the firearm must remain unloaded at home, and must remain unloaded while being transported (which can only be for a lawful recreational shooting/hunting).
It is illegal for anyone under 16 to possess a firearm, BB, air, gas operated gun or an electric weapon unless the child is under adult supervision, has the consent of the child’s parent/guardian and the adult which is supervising is present with the child. A violation of this law is a second-degree misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 60 days in jail, 6 months of probation and a $500 fine. So, unlike Ralphie in “A Christmas Story”, someone under 16 cannot get a Red Ryder BB gun for Christmas or any other occasion without following the law as laid out above.
About Danielle Wall –